Fueling Growth as a Leader: My 2012 Reading List

Welcome to 2012. Another year and another opportunity to make a difference as a leader and do something that matters.

What do you plan to use to fuel your leadership this year? One of the types of fuel I try to use constantly is reading. I recognize I have a lot to learn and there are much smarter people out there than I am, so I use reading as an opportunity to keep myself personally sharp.

The quote, “Readers lead and leaders read” really resonates with me and has encouraged me to spend time intentionally planning out my reading schedule for each year. So, below is my reading list for this next year. It’s ambitious, but I want to continue to stretch myself so I can continue to increase my leadership effectiveness.

Here is my reading list for 2012:

  1. Start Something that Matters (Blake Mycoskie)
  2. Unbroken (Laura Hillenbrand)
  3. Making Things Stick (Chip and Dan Heath)
  4. Making Ideas Happen (Scott Belsky)
  5. Rumors of God (Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson)
  6. Jesus, My Father, The CIA and Me (Ian Morgan Cron)
  7. Samson and the Pirate Monks: Calling Men to Authentic Brotherhood (Nate Larkin)
  8. The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Steve Blanks)
  9. The Entrepreneur’s Guide to Customer Development (Brant Cooper and Patrick Vlaskovits)
  10. The Toyota Way (Jeffrey Liker)
  11. Certain to Win : The Strategy of John Boyd, Applied to Business (Chet Richards)
  12. Talent is Overrated (Geoff Colvin)
  13. Strategy Power Plays (Tim Phillips and Karen Mccreadie)
  14. Great by Choice (Jim Collins)
  15. The Myth of the Garage (Chip Heath)
  16. Focus (Al Ries)
  17. Linchpin (Seth Godin)
  18. Drive (Daniel Pink)
  19. Radical (David Platt)
  20. Bonhoeffer, Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy (Eric Metaxas)
  21. Decision Points (George W. Bush)
  22. Inside the Tornado (Geoffrey Moore)
  23. Crossing the Chasm (Geoffrey Moore)
  24. The War of Art (Steven PressField)
  25. Washington: A Life (Ron Chernow)
  26. Colonel Roosevelt (Edmund Morris)

Discussion Question: What books do you plan to read in 2012?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fueling Growth as a Leader: My 2012 Reading List

  1. jglisson73 says:

    I am presently listening to “Hearing God” by Dallas Willard (I do audio books a lot). On my list for the near future are “ScreamFree Marriage” by Hal Runkel and “Kisses from Katie” by Katie Davis. I also got “Instant Immersion – Spanish” for Christmas. That is on my agenda for this year – becoming marginally conversational with Spanish.

  2. chadaustin says:

    I have a list of books to read that’s seemingly a mile long, and I’m always adding to it (thanks to suggestions and lists such as this one!) I have never planned the books I want to read, and, consequently, my reading is haphazard at best, non-existent at worst. This post is both motivating and encouraging about being more intentional in this area.

Leave a Reply

